Where the Crawdads Sing - Delia Owens

Where the Crawdads Sing

By Delia Owens

  • Release Date: 2018-08-14
  • Genre: Literary
Score: 4.5
4.5
From 162 Ratings

Description

The Reese Witherspoon x Hello Sunshine Book Club Pick
The New York Times Bestseller

"I can't even express how much I love this book! I didn't want this story to end!"--Reese Witherspoon

"Painfully beautiful."--The New York Times Book Review

"Perfect for fans of Barbara Kingsolver."--Bustle


For years, rumors of the "Marsh Girl" have haunted Barkley Cove, a quiet town on the North Carolina coast. So in late 1969, when handsome Chase Andrews is found dead, the locals immediately suspect Kya Clark, the so-called Marsh Girl. But Kya is not what they say. Sensitive and intelligent, she has survived for years alone in the marsh that she calls home, finding friends in the gulls and lessons in the sand. Then the time comes when she yearns to be touched and loved. When two young men from town become intrigued by her wild beauty, Kya opens herself to a new life--until the unthinkable happens.

Perfect for fans of Barbara Kingsolver and Karen Russell, Where the Crawdads Sing is at once an exquisite ode to the natural world, a heartbreaking coming-of-age story, and a surprising tale of possible murder. Owens reminds us that we are forever shaped by the children we once were, and that we are all subject to the beautiful and violent secrets that nature keeps.

Reviews

  • Heart catching

    5
    By Tess65s
    I was instantly caught up in the life of Kya. The author has an amazing talent of drawing you in and creating a vivid picture. Beautifully written. Hopefully this book will also help each of us to see our own disguised prejudices for what they are and help us to see the real person in everyone not just what we assume they are. I definitely recommend it!
  • Amazing and unforgettable

    5
    By Alessia718
    A story so captivating I could not put it down!
  • Wonderful book

    5
    By TexasGB16
    Great story, like the others, I couldn’t put this down. I’m now looking for her other books! Highly recommend this one.
  • An instant favorite!

    5
    By AlexaRami
    Beautiful, raw, enthralling!! A struggle to put down and worth reading again!
  • Amazing

    5
    By Crystalishus
    The book moved me deeply. It is a beautiful story about a girl whose connection to nature inspires me.
  • Amazing!

    5
    By killerknight45
    Just finished reading this book, it may have been the best book I’ve read. The story was original and was written beautifully. Highly recommend.
  • Where the Crawdads Sing

    5
    By Peg1gy
    This lifts the soul and gives hope in pages of beautiful words. Crawdads speaks to all women. This book is a moving experience.
  • The sweetest tale

    5
    By CJJinATX
    I didn’t want it to end and I couldn’t put it down. Such refreshing, beautiful writing. Loved it so much, I went back and re read it.
  • Where the Crawdads Sing

    5
    By Artsy0508
    I loved this book. Delia’s writing painted clear pictures of the swamp and it’s fascinating creatures and Kya’s love for her life and environment.
  • Where the Crawdads Sing

    5
    By Badlilblue
    Could not put this book down. Highly recommend.